I’m quite possibly the world’s proudest mother after last Saturday.  My older girls participated in their first chip timed race.  It was only a mile, but they did great!  Here they are with their friend Savannah.  Savannah’s mom, Laura, is my racing buddy when our schedules work out.  Our hubbies work together and are soon to be working the same shift which means that hopefully we’ll get to run together alot more.

 

Brynne (in the purple) ran her mile in 8:36!  Brooke and Savannah were right behind her at 9:15. 

Laura and I ran the 5K.  It didn’t start until 8:45 and it was relatively warm that morning.  I think it was close to 70.  There was a pretty good breeze though.  The course was super hilly compared to anything I usually run.  I was wishfully hoping for a PR but wasn’t going to bet the farm on it.

The course was an out and back and the first mile was almost all downhill.  I knew immediately that I was going out too fast when my garmin was showing my pace in the 8:30’s.  I reigned it in and managed to run the first mile in 8:53.  Still way too fast.  Mile 2 was up and down and lost a few seconds at the water stop when people seemed to come to a screeching halt at the table.  If I hadn’t desperately needed a sip of water (forgot my gum) I would have skipped the whole thing.  9:43 for mile 2.  Not too shabby.  Should  have been better.  Mile 3 (and the remaining .1) were ROUGH.  All that downhill from the first mile was now uphill.  All the way too the finish line.  I managed to keep a 9:48 average pace for a 29:30 finish.  PR!

My shins weren’t happy about the course at all but it really was fun.  And there was all  you could eat Blue Bell ince cream at the finish.

Unfortunately a few weeks ago I started having a nagging groin pain.  It wasn’t bad, just irritating.  Or at least I chose to ignore it.  Anyhow, after the 5K it’s made itself quite known.  Dr. Google says it is a pulled muscle.  As hard as it is on me mentally I’m taking a complete rest for the rest of this week.  The hubby and I are headed out of town this weekend and we’re planning on doing some hiking.  I might try a short, easy run next Monday jsut to see how it goes.

