Or at least that ‘s what I though 2.5 miles into my 5 miler this morning.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  I’ve been crazy busy the past week and all I really wanted to do was stay in bed as long as possible before I had to stumble to the shower to be presentable and on time for work.

But I forced myself out of bed (after two rounds with the snooze) and out the door.  I really wanted to try a short run with my new Nathan hydration belt that Amazon delivered yesterday.  More on that in a bit.

The first mile was pretty good and right at 10:00 mpm but after that it pretty much fell apart.  I bargained with myself that I would do 3 miles and then quit if I wanted.  At 3 miles I told myself to speed walk another mile just to get a little more activity in and then I would call it quits.  Yeah, I LOATHE speed walking.  After about 15 seconds I though, to heck with this and started a slow jog.

I picked it up on the last loop around the hood because I was having some a’hem *intestinal issues*.  TMI for sure but whatever it took to get me home faster.  At least the run was over.

Back to the Nathan hydration belt.  It was great!  I got the medium and wore it relatively low on my hips.  I did not adjust it at all and after five miles it had only crept up slightly and wasn’t really jostling around at all.  It was pretty comfy.

I suspect my crappy run was caused by the fact that I have sat still for almost a week.  I have camped, been to a concert, got a mani/pedi, dined out, shopped, cooked for twelve ladies, cleaned and played bunco all in the past week.  I’m super pooped.  I passed up another concert tonight in favor of sitting at home on my tush.

The cooking for twelve ladies?  That was me hosting my Bunco group last night.  I pink, puffy heart Bunco nights.  Once a month we get together and eat, yack, cackle and laugh.  Oh yeah, we also manage to roll a bunch of dice and hopefully win a prize.  Since I hosted on St. Patty’s Day I prepared a huge Irish dinner.

I’m not posting recipes since I followed them to a T.  They were all delicious!

I made Kier’s Irish Beef Stew and Amped up and Loaded Colcannon.  I prepared the stew Wednesday because it takes a pretty good while to cook.  I swear stews are always better the second day.  The only change I made was to omit the celery because I forgot to buy it.  Oops.  I’m positive that the hubby will be asking for colcannon on a regular basis.  Potatoes and cabbage are two of his favorite foods ever.

This Irish soda bread with cheese was ridiculously easy to make.  It doesn’t sound very impressive but it was wonderful for soaking up the juices from the stew.

Dessert was a big flop.  I made a green velvet cake using my favorite red velvet recipe ever.  Only I chose not to read the part that said cake flour and went with all purpose flour.  Cake FAIL.  It was so dense you could barely get a fork through it.  At least my go to cream cheese icing didn’t let me down.

Have a great weekend everyone!  I’m running the East Texas Warrior Dash Sunday morning.  Yikes!  Here’s a picture I swiped from their FB page.  It’s just one of the dozen or so obstacles.

Yeah, this is going to be interesting!

