There are a couple of mornings a month where I can only devote 30 minutes or less to my run and the stars won’t align for me to make it out that evening.  Today was one of those days.  I was up at 4 a.m. (totally normal for me) prepping dinner for the crockpot.  Then I threw on my running clothes and waited for the hubby to make it home from work.

He walked through the door at 5:15 and I headed out.  I need to be back and in the shower at 5:40 at the absolute latest.  25 minutes?  2 miles it is.

So I ran a 2 mile tempo run.  It was warm – 60* and muggy – 90% humidity and I thought I was going to die.  Short runs really bite.  They seem so pointless.  I was pretty stoked about my pace- 9:33! though.

So what should I do with 2 miles to actually make them beneficial and not just I-need-to-run-today garbage miles.  Intervals, tempo run?  I’m not really training for anything right now, just working on keeping my base around 20 miles a week and not keeling over as it starts to warm up here.

I signed up for a 5K that’s one month from today. The Blue Bell Fun Run.  Running for all you can eat ice cream?  Count me in!  The older kiddos are running the one mile!  I’m running the 5K with friends and have pretty much no hope for a PR.  They have hills in Brenham.

Have a great Wednesday everyone!  I’m just chugging along, keeping my eyes on the weekend.  Camping with the family!

