I’m really missing those chilly mornings we had just a few weeks ago.  The weather has been ridiculously warm and sticky the past few days.  This morning when I stepped out for my run it was 65* with 100% humidity at 4 a.m.  Ick.  It’s been crazy foggy as well.  So bad some mornings that I’ve missed my intended turn when running and not realzed it for a block or so.  I tried to take pictures with my phone but without a flash it was impossible to capture it on camera.

All I can say is that I’m just not physically used to these temps anymore.  I love, love running when the weather is colder and I was honestly hoping to have a few more weeks of cool weather running left.  But you never know what the weather is going to be like here.

Exciting news is that I’ve started seeds for our garden!  Last year was our first year and we didn’t really have the result that we wanted.  We’ve learned a few things from our mistakes and this year we’re hoping for a better harvest.

What we’re planting-

Tomatoes

Summer squash & zucchini

Cucumbers

Spinach

Green beans

Pepper – bell, banana, jalapeno and a “hot pepper mix”

Cantaloupes

And the herbs-

Basil

Chives

Thyme

Cilantro

Sage

Rosemary (existing plant)

We’ll see how it all turns out.  I can’t wait to get out there and dig in the dirt.

To completely change the subject one more time.  I promised to post a little more about the running club I ran with on Saturday.

Proverbs 31 Running Club  is a brand new club for women only in Houston.  The founder, Julie, just completed her first marathon a few weeks ago and wanted to start a group for Christian women.  She is starting from the very beginning so that any woman, no matter her running ability is able to join.  I think it’s a wonderful idea and I wish Julie the very best if luck.

Unfortunately the runs they will be doing just don’t coincide with my goals right now.  I might still join them when I can and I even told her that if she has a group that wants to join and run more continuous, longer routes to let me know and I’ll help out when I can.  It was an awesome experience to meet and chat with all the ladies and do intend to hang out with them when my schedule and training allows.

