My husband requested chicken and rice for dinner last night.  My mom’s chicken and rice is one of my all time favorite comfort foods.  It’s hearty but no so healthy.  I’m not calling this a complete recipe makeover because I still used the Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice box mix.  I did, however, replace the cream of mushroom soup in the “recipe” with a homemade cream sauce.  The end result was fantastic.  Mom would have been proud.  Next time I’m tackling the boxed rice mix for an all out recipe makeover and I’ll share the recipe then.

Growing up we always had several cans of cream of mushroom/chicken/celery soup in the pantry.  They went into various casseroles and dishes.  Today I wanted a cleaner option.  The nutritional stats look “worse” meaning there are more calories and fat, but that fat comes from heart healthy olive oil.  This is one case where the lowest calorie and fat option is not the best.

Homemade Cream of Whatever Soup Substitute

Equal to 1 can

Ingredients:

1/4 onion, finely diced

2 cloves garlic, finely minced

2 Tbs + 1 tsp olive oil

1 Tbs whole wheat flour

3/4 cup 1% milk (or skim, or whatever you have)

3/4 cup no salt added chicken stock (I LOVE the Kitchen Basics brand)

Directions:

Heat 1 tsp olive oil in a medium sauce pan.  Saute onion and garlic over medium-high heat until onion is translucent (about 5 minutes).  Add the remaining olive oil to the pan and whisk in the flour.  Continue whisking for one minute.  It’s okay if it looks a little lumpy.  Also, using whole wheat flour will result in a brown roux.  It’s fine for any white sauce recipes.  It doesn’t affect the taste.  Add the milk and chicken stock.  Bring to a boil and cook, whisking constantly, until thick.

Season as desired for your recipe. 

