Running stats for last week.

Sunday – None

Monday – 3 miles on the treadmill.  (11:35 pace)

Tuesday – 4 miles (11:04 pace)

Wednesday – None

Thursday – None

Friday – 5 miles (not sure on pace)

Saturday – 5 miles on the treadmill (10:10 pace)  Woohoo for intervals!!

Weekly Total: 17

January Total: 80

Yearly Total: 80

Best: Most definitely my 5 mile treadmill run.  I had forgotten that it can actually be FUN to push yourself to the max.  Seeing a sub 9:00 pace on the display for half a mile can really be inspiring.  I’m going to aim for one interval session on the treadmill per week.

Worst: My 3 mile treadmill run.  I just wasn’t feeling it.

Yesterday I volunteered at the Chevron Houston Marathon.  I was a course guard at the point where the half marathoners turned back toward the finish.  Can I just say how much fun it was!!  I met a new running friend and we buddied up for the morning.  Our job was super easy and we spent most of our time cheering on runners.  It’s awesome to pick a random running and cheer for them by name.  We got lots of waves and smiles and a few high fives.

Having never spectated at a race before this gave me a chance to see the elites.  We were at the 9 mile marker and the first runners blew by us with only 43 minutes on the clock.  That’s a sub 5:00 mile!  I was in awe.  Those guys make it look so easy.  You can see lean they are and how efficient their stride is.

Looking at the results, a new coures record was set at 2:07:04.  Holy cow!  That’s an average pace of 4:51 in less than ideal conditions (warm and drizzly).  You go Bekana Daba!

It was so much fun that I can’t wait to do it again next year if I don’t make snag a spot in the half since they switched to the lottery system.  So, have you ever volunteered or spectated at a race?  What was your favorite part?

