I’ve noticed a trend in our meal plans….. mexican food.  Not authentic mexican.  Probably what most would consider “Tex-Mex” (this is Texas, after all).  Tacos, fajitas, quesadillas, burritos.  They show up on our menu at least twice a week.  This super easy salsa goes great with any and all them.  I threw a batch together this morning to go with these Crockpot Chicken Tacos from Prevention RD for dinner tonight.  We have chicken tacos a couple of times a month but I’ve never tried them with chipotle peppers.  Sounds YUMMY.

 

Corn and Black Bean Salsa

12 servings

Ingredients:

1 15oz can black beans – drained and rinsed
1 ear of corn – cooked, kernels cut away from the cob
1 roma tomato – seeded and diced
1/4 red onion – finely diced
1 jalapeno – seeded and finely diced (forgot to buy)
Handful of fresh cilantro – roughly chopped (forgot to buy)
juice of 1 large lime (or 2 small ones)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic powder (used minced garlic)
1 Tbs chili powder
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Seriously the easiest instructions ever.  Combine everything in a bowl.  Cover and chill for at least an hour.  The longer you let it chill the better it will be.  Serve with chips, on tacos or fajitas.

Nutritional Info: 102 calories, 1 gram fat, 21 grams carbs, 5 grams fiber, 6 grams protein

You’ll notice that the recipe is also easily adaptable.  If you don’t have fresh corn, use frozen or canned.  You can leave out whatever doesn’t suit your fancy.  This batch has no jalapenos or cilantro because I forgot to pick them up at the store.  It will still taste great.

Wednesday is almost always crockpot day at our house.  I get home around 5:15 and we need to be all fed and out the door on our way to church around 5:45.  Tonight’s schedule is even tighter than that so I knew there would be absolutely ZERO time for dinner prep after I get home.  The plan, cook everything overnight in the crockpot and do all the finishing this morning before work.  I had to shred the chicken, grate cheese and make the salsa.

I tried cooking overnight in the crockpot before and I found that I woke up around 3 a.m. to the smell of dinner!  I couldn’t go back to sleep after that.  To avoid that problem this time I moved the crockpot out to the garage.  Problem solved!  I got a great nights sleep and a head start on one super busy day.

What shortcuts do you use on extremely busy nights to still prepare a healthy dinner and not fall into the fast food trap?

