It’s COLD here.  Well, people anywhere north of the Texas gulf coast don’t think lows in the 20’s is all that cold for January, but it’s cold for us.  Cold weather means soup time to me!  I had an intriguing recipe for Silky Cauliflower Soup from a friend just waiting to be tested.  What better night to try it?  And what better to go with soup than cheese toast on homemade bread.  The soup was wonderful (if you like cauliflower) and I’ll post that recipe soon.

The problem?  I was too lazy the night before to make bread dough.  A quick google search turned up a handful of one hour bread recipes and I decided on a whole wheat one for which I had all the ingredients at home.  Honestly, I didn’t have high hopes but the reviews seemed good enough.

Turns out, the bread is great!  My loaves weren’t as tall as I would have liked but my loaf pans are bigger than those called for in the recipe.  Next time I’m going to increase the quantities to see if I can get fuller loaves.  Also, the original recipe post says that the bread took longer to rise than stated.  I found the same thing to be true.  I kept having to rewarm the oven (because it’s COLD here, remember?) and it took about 30 minutes for the bread to rise.  So the recipe took an hour and fifteen minutes from start to finish.  Not too shabby for fresh baked bread.

If you’re short on time but love homemade wheat bread this is definitely a recipe to try!  I would have even taken a picture but we were all pretty starved by the time dinner was on the table.

One Hour Wheat Bread  adapted from Real Mom Kitchen

Makes 2 (8×4 inch) loaves

Ingredients:

3 c. whole wheat flour
1/3 c. vital wheat gluten
1 1/4 T. instant yeast (or quick-rising)
2 1/2 c. very warm tap water
1 T. salt
1/3 c. olive oil
1/3 c. honey or 1/2 c. sugar (I used honey)
1 1/4 T. bottled lemon juice (I didn’t have any so I just juiced a lime I had in the fridge)
2 – 2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

Directions:

Mix together first three ingredients in mixer with a dough hook. Add water all at once and mix for 1 minute. Cover and let rest for 10 minutes.
Add salt, oil, honey or sugar and lemon juice and beat for 1 minute. Add last flour, 1 cup at a time, beating between each cup.
Beat for about 6-10 minutes until dough pulls away from sides of the bowl. This makes a very soft dough.
Preheat oven for 1 minute to lukewarm and turn off.
Turn dough onto oiled counter top.  Divide, shape into loaves, place in oiled bread pans.
Let rise in warm oven for 10-15 minutes (this took 30 minutes for me) until dough reaches top of pan. Do not remove bread from oven; turn oven to 350 degrees F and bake for 30 minutes (that is 30 minutes from the time you turn the oven on).
Remove from pans and cool on racks.  Great for cheese toast!

Nutritional Info (per slice, 10 slices per loaf): 161 calories, 5 grams fat, 28 grams carbs, 3 grams fiber, 7 grams protein

