I’ve never had lentils before in my life.  Quite honestly, they just didn’t appeal to me.  Maybe because they just aren’t a good looking food.  I mean, come on, how visually appealing can a bowl of legumes be?  Don’t let their plain jane appearance fool you though!  I loved them.  Even the pickiest eater in the house gave this recipe a thumbs up.  I doubled the original recipe so that I would have leftovers and ended up freezing some for later.

Lentils are a low fat, high protein food that give you a great boost of fiber.  Kale, a dark leafy green, is also a highly nutritiuos vegetable.  I really enjoy it but if it’s too bitter for your tastes you can always substitute fresh spinach, just throw it in the pot during the last few minutes of cooking instead of with the potatoes.

I find this a good time to point out that I am not, nor will I ever be, a food photographer.  I have a simple point and shoot camera.  I like to cook food and love to eat it.  I really couldn’t care less about photographing it.

Curried Lentils with Potatoes and Kale adapted from epicurious.com.

serves 8

Ingredients:

2 Tbs. olive oil

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 Tbs. curry powder (I used hot curry powder but didn’t find the dish spicy)

2 cups dried lentils, rinsed and picked over

6 cups vegetable broth

1 lb red potatoes

1 bunch kale

Directions:

In a large pot heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant (about 30 seconds).  Stir in curry powder and cook for 10 more seconds.  Add lentils and vegetable broth to the pot.  Bring to a boil, cover and cook for 15 minutes.

Dice potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes.  Remove middle stem from kale and chop into bite sized pieces.  After the lentils have cooked for 15 minutes add the potatoes and kale.  Return to a boil and cook, uncovered, for 15 – 20 minutes until potatoes are done.  Add salt if needed.

Nutritional Info: 277 calories, 5 grams fat, 50 grams carbs, 17 grams fiber, 15 grams protein

