I’ve been a terrible, horrible, no good blogger.

Things got crazy, crazy for a while and blogging was one of the things that had to be sacrificed so that I could keep up with the important stuff… like caring for my kids and hubby, doing my actual job, and still fitting in my workouts.  Things seem to  have calmed down quite a bit so I’m going to try to get back into regular blogging.

Tomorrow is going to be a big day!  Since half the year has passed I’m going to do a review and probably a reassessment of my goals for the year.  I know that a few of them have definitely changed.

Also, today is the last day of the YumYucky Bikini Body Challenge!  Even though I haven’t been blogging I’ve been working hard and will be taking after pics tomorrow morning.  I have no illusions that I’ll win the cash prize but I know for sure that I’ll see positive changes!

I hope everyone is surviving the summer months.  It’s been ridiculously hot and humid here.  We’ve set record temps and we are smack dab in the middle of the worst drought our area has endured in recorded history.  Talk about rough running weather.  I’ve been battling it pretty well and I don’t feel that my long term running will suffer.  Here’s how I’m managing.

Hot Weather Running Tips

  • Run early in the morning or late in the evening.  If I’m running outside you can bet it’s never in the middle of the day!  Most of my outside runs are predawn.

 

  • Sloooooooow down!  I’ve accepted the fact that running fast just doesn’t happen when it’s this hot.  My pace is about 1.5 minutes slower than when it’s cool out.

 

  • Hit the ‘mill.  The treadmill is my frenemy.  I see it as a necessary evil if I want to do any speedwork at all.  80*-95*, 85% humidity =/= good for intervals.  I have taken to listening to audiobooks to pass the time on the treadmill.

 

  • Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.  I take water for ANY outside runs during the summer, 2 miles or 10 miles.  Anything over 5 miles and I’ll carry along some electrolyte replacement (Gatorade or such).  And I try to stay well hydrated even on days I don’t run.

How are you handling the summer weather?  Or is it cool as a cucumber where you happen to be?